Kellen Hoxworth - PhD Candidate-Stanford University


PhD - Theatre and Performance Studies, Stanford University, 2017

MA - Theatre and Performance Studies, University of Pittsburgh, 2012

BA - English Literature, Washington University in St. Louis, 2008


Kellen Hoxworth is an Andrew W. Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow at Dartmouth College, where he is affiliated with the Department of Theater, the Program in African and African American Studies, and the Leslie Center for the Humanities. He holds a B.A. in English Literature from Washington University in St. Louis, an M.A. in Theatre and Performance Studies from the University of Pittsburgh, and a Ph.D. in Theater and Performance Studies from Stanford University.

As an artist, Kellen is a performer, director, and dramaturg. He has recently directed productions of Lola Arias’s "A Kingdom, a Country or a Wasteland, in the Snow" and María Irene Fornés’s "Mud." He has performed in fox mirror forest by the Becky Collective as well as The Collected Works’ site-specific production of Jean Genet’s "The Balcony" at the San Francisco Mint. He has also served as a dramaturg at the Aurora Theatre in Berkeley for productions of Athol Fugard’s "'Master Harold'…and the Boys" and Fraser Grace’s "Breakfast with Mugabe."

As a scholar, he has two articles forthcoming - in Modern Drama and Theatre Survey - in September 2017. His writing has also been published in Theatre Survey and Performance Research. He also co-edited and co-curated the PSi19 performance blog (, from which several posts were selected for publication in Performance Research 19.3. He has presented his research at the American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR), Performance Studies International (PSi), the International Federation for Theatre Research (IFTR), the Association for Asian Performance (AAP), the Canadian Association for Theatre Research (CATR), and the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE), where he was awarded the Theatre History Focus Group Emerging Scholars Award in 2011. At ASTR, he was elected to serve as the Graduate Student Caucus President and Representative to the Executive Committee (2014-2015).