Theatre Arts Department Graduation Ceremony

April 29, 2018 - 6:00am

Family and friends gathered on Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 10:00 AM in the Charity Randall Theatre to celebrate our major and minor Theatre Arts Graduates.

Our faculty members led the way into the theatre with the graduate and undergraduate students following.

Chair, Annmarie Duggan welcomed everyone and thanked the faculty, family and friends for their continued support of our students during their time at PITT.

The Director of Graduate Studies, Dr. Lisa Jackson-Schebetta was introduced and shared highlights of our graduating graduate students.

The Director of Undergraduate Studies, Gianni Downs approached the podium and spoke about the impact the undergraduate students had on the department inside the classroom and on the stage.

The audience was then treated to the first of two musical selections, the first being presented by Tori Anderson and Rachelmae Pulliam.

Student representatives of the Class of 2018 were invited to share their thoughts with those in attendance.

Undergraduate representative from the performance area, Alex Knapp shared words of support and hope for the future of the arts and what today's graduates can do to insure their place in that future.

Undergraduate representative from the technical area, Laura Valenti offered a personal remembrance of the time shared with her fellow graduates and the importance of those friendships.

Graduate representative Diego Villada presented a lively and animated overview of what it means to be a alumni of U of Pitt and how the lessons and friendships forged during this time will continue to be a part of each graduate as they go out into the world.

The second musical selection was presented by Laura Valenti and Alex Dittmar. Both musical selections were accompanied by Rob Frankenberry.

Annmarie then reviewed the winners of the department scholarships/awards that were presented at the End of the Year party on Friday, April 20, 2018.

  • Rachel Lipton received The Blaine Award, which is awarded to a student for outstanding technical work.
  • Alex Dittmar, Gaby Kogut, Kevin McConville and Hayley Ulmer each received The Buehl Whitehill Award, which is awarded to students who are good citizens of the theatre arts department.
  • Laura Valenti and Alex Knapp received The Helen Katz Award, which is awarded to students who shows professional promise with a career in theatre.
  • Kyle Huber and Luke Pomrenke each received a 2018-2019 Richard McMillan Scholarship.

Ricardo Vila-Roger then called each student to the stage and along with other faculty members, presented the graduates with a certificate of graduation and a medallion from the Theatre Arts Department.

Faculty, staff members and students enjoyed refreshments served after the ceremony in the Charity Randall lobby.

Congratulations to all our graduates! Here are some photos of the ceremony:

Graduation 2018

Please join us on Sunday, April 29, 2018 at 10:00 AM in the Charity Randall Theatre as we celebrate our major and minor Theatre Arts Graduates!

Please RSVP by April 27, 2018 to UP Stages Box Office

Please include your name and the number of people coming with you to the ceremony in the email.

Don't forget to wear your cap and gown to the ceremony. 

We will recognize each student by name and present our graduates with a certificate of graduation from the Theatre Arts Department.

There will be refreshments served after the ceremony.

Location and Address

The Charity Randall Theatre